About IATSG

Traditional games and sports are considered universal means of communication. For everyone, the association "The International Association for Traditional Sports and Games" (IATSG) means new strength, vitality, joy and constant challenge to personal performance, recovery and preservation of the former quality of life.

The association is a charitable and non-profit organization (NPO). The objectives of the IATSG are promotion and dissemination of traditional games and sports in Europe and worldwide, the network of partner organizations and development of traditional games and sports as sport for all (competitive, disabled, youth, family and recreational sports).

This aim is pursued in particular through the implementation of the following tasks:

1.     Engaging in sport activities and performance of a social, cultural and humanistic contribution to the sport, health and physical education;

2.     Researching and documenting the history of traditional games and sports;

3.     Collection and preservation of ancient documents, games and sports equipment;

4.     Organization and coordination of international competitions;

5.     Establishing strongcontacts between national and international organizations;

6.     Collaboration with Sports Museums and networking with international sports federations and organizations pursuing similar goals;

7.     Promoting school and youthsport;

8.     Advice and support for national and international wheelchair and disability sports organizations;

9.     Engaging in international understanding, in particular the European and international integration, reduction of violence and racism in society, facilitating effective implementation of gender equality, equality between healthy people and people with disabilities.

About IATSG

Traditionelle Spiele und Sportarten gelten als universelles Kommunikationsmittel. Für die Betroffenen bedeutet der Verein „The International Association for Traditional Sports and Games“ (IATSG) e.V. neue Kraft, Lebensfreude, Frohsinn und permanente Herausforderung zur persönlichen Leistung - kurzum, Wiedererlangung und Erhaltung der früheren Lebensqualität.

Der Verein verfolgt ausschließlich und unmittelbar gemeinnützige Zwecke. Zweck des IATSG ist die Förderung und die Verbreitung der traditionellen Spielen und Sportarten in Europa und weltweit, die internationale Organisation und Förderung der traditionellen Spielen und Sportarten als Leistungs-, Breiten- und Freizeitsport.

Dieser Zweck wird insbesondere durch die Wahrnehmung der folgenden Aufgaben verfolgt:

  1. Förderung des Sporttreibens und Leistung eines sozialen, kulturellen und humanistischen Beitrages durch Einflussnahme auf die Sport-, Gesundheits- und Körpererziehung;
  2. Erforschung und Dokumentation der Geschichte von traditionellen Spielen und Sportarten;
  3. Sammeln und Bewahren von alten Dokumenten, Spielen und Sportgeräten;
  4. Organisation und Koordinierung internationaler Wettkämpfe;
  5. Herstellung von engeren Kontakten zwischen den nationalen und internationalen Organisationen;
  6. Zusammenarbeit mit Sportmuseen und Vernetzung mit den internationalen Sportverbänden und Einrichtungen, die ähnliche Ziele verfolgen;
  7. Förderung des Schul- und Jugendsports;
  8. Unterstützung und Beratung von nationalen und internationalen Organisationen, die Rollstuhl- und Behindertensport durchführen;
  9. Förderung der internationalen Verständigung insbesondere der europäischen und internationalen Integration, der Abbau von Gewalt und Rassismus in der Gesellschaft, die Förderung der tatsächlichen Durchsetzung der Gleichberechtigung von Frauen und Männern, gesunden und körperbehinderten Menschen.